Theatre

Corporations in Our Heads

Headlines Theater does a lot of interesting work but it has also been around for a while. The company's latest offering Corporations in Our Heads was a four-night pilot that ran at the W2 Media Cafe from May 24th to 27th. In this forum theater production, on a stage lacking set, props or rehearsed actor-director David Diamond experimented with a new interactive theatrical technique.

Author: 
Meghan Jeffrey
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
Grey Gardens

To the orchestra, I give you my kudos. The accompaniment was stellar, the bass beautiful and not a note missed. The singing varied (did I mention this is a musical?). At times, a mic or two would have been nice, just to amplify the sound or put less strain on our performers’ voices. 

 

by @nadatodo

Grey Gardens is a pillar of society, utter chaos, a documentary film, Broadway play, and most recently, a feature.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
L’Orchestre d’Hommes-Orchestres

Fast forward to after the performance. I went home and listen to a bulk of Waits tunes. His voice is raspy, husky and at times, a parody of himself. He is eccentric, eclectic and comedic. He is gospel, and blues, and jazz, and bluegrass and folk. He is strange and yet, a skilled entertainer.

by @nadatodo

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
The Odd Couple

March 6th was the first of two preview nights for The Odd Couple (Female Version), staged at the Jericho Arts Centre. This was the first time I’d been to this venue, so I figure I’d kill two birds with one stone: Check out the space, and see the new rendition of a theatrical classic.

by @nadatodo | Anastasia Koutalianos

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
Hunchback

Only two months into the year and another gem hits the Vancouver stage. Only this time ‘round it is a retake on the classic The Hunchback of Notre-Dame.

 

by @nadatodo | Anastasia Koutalianos

“It could have been different. She had a choice.”

“So did you.”

— Quasimodo to Claude Frollo

Only two months into the year and another gem hits the Vancouver stage. Only this time ‘round it is a retake on the classic The Hunchback of Notre-Dame.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
Julius Caesar

“His life was gentle, and the elements 

So mixed in him that Nature might stand up

And say to all the world, ‘This was a man!’"

 

Julius Caesar. Packed full of symbolism, mysticism, greed, loyalty and all that jazz—it’s no wonder the play is a staple in any high school English classroom, let alone the stage. And again, no surprise then that Langara College’s Studio 58 decided to present the Shakespearean tragedy as part of its 2012 season. That is, with a twist.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
Calendar Girls

“I’ve never had a problem with age…It’s only had a problem with me.” – Shirley Broderick as Jessie

 

This is my third or fourth time at the Stanley. Besides the Orpheum or Vogue, this theatre has to be one of the nicest in the city. It has charm.

Tonight we’re here to see Calendar Girls.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)

Like the performance, here’s my review in fast forward.

Imagine watching all 37 William Shakespeare plays in 97 minutes. Now make your way to Metro Theatre and you’ll see just that. The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged) is a three-man show, whereby you are taken on a sped-up journey through the literary works of Mr. W.S.—from comedies, to tragedies and histories in between.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
Blood Brothers

Often we overlook how fate and destiny can have more leverage over events that have already been manipulated.

            A poor single women burdened with seven hungry mouths has no choice, but to give up one of her newborn twins to a wealthy family. What are the chances that two non-identical twins separated at birth would later re-connect with each other and become not just playmates, but blood brothers. Heightening the tension there is a foreboding that if they find out they are brothers, both will die.

Author: 
Nick Pannu
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator
La Cage aux Folles

“Your life is a sham ‘til you can scream out loud I am what I am.” — Greg Armstrong-Morris as Albin/Zaza

For the past few weeks I’ve read rave reviews (in 140 characters or less) of La Cage aux Folles—a Vancouver Playhouse Theatre Company production. So with glowing accolades in my mind and yes, a dose of expectation, I set out to see the musical this past Tuesday.

Author: 
Anastasia Koutalianos
  • Posted on: 18 March 2016
  • By: Administrator

Pages