Music RSS

Pop Montreal

A self-aware misnomer if there ever was one, the international music festival really should rename itself to "Pop" Montreal.

Since its inception in 2002, the Pop Montreal International Music Festival has grown exponentially, now showcasing over 600 artists in the span of 5 days. With headlining acts ranging from the electronic-duo Chromeo to the saxophone-heavy, big-beat-tossing-and-simultaneously yelping tUnE-YarDs to the Montreal rock sweethearts Karkwa, "pop" is hardly apropos.

Author: 
Aaron Acosta
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Rifflandia

Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending an up and coming music festival that has taken place in Victoria for the past three years. It was my first time to the festival, and only my second time in Victoria. I will let you know right off the bat, reader, that I am no where close to professionalism in my critiques or reviews of events; however, I can give one hell of an honest, average-joe like, almost personal preference free account of a good time. This is the quick story of my time at Rifflandia.

Thursday night

Author: 
Kiara Shibley
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
J Mascis @ the Olio Festival

As the central figure in the underground act Dinosaur Jr., with a huge catalogue of work compiled over the last two decades, J Mascis surely needs little introduction. However, the indie rock icon has certainly stripped things down on many levels since those early formative years.  

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Philip Glass

The Chan Centre for the Performing Arts was a hum and buzz of anticipation as the audience waited for the composer-performer-innovator, Philip Glass, to walk on stage. Arts & Entertainment correspondent, Denise Mok was on the scene to capture some of the quiet grandeur and virtuosity of Philip Glass\' Vancouver performance. 

Author: 
Isis B.
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Certain Breeds/Terror Bird/Digits

Alternative to the now defunct Cobalt, Funky Winkerbeans has been catering to bands with a raw punk edge, and those with a brooding darkwave vibe. Scott White arrived, early to May 8th Certain Breeds, Terror Bird, and Digits and had the opportunity to converse with a couple of the members of local band Certain Breeds.   

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
The Bleating Hearts, The Unsupervised, Owl Drugs, and We Just St

Monday May 17th, reviewer Shazia R. got a healthy dose of local bands: The Bleating Hearts, The Unsupervised, Owl Drugs, and We Just Stole a Car at the Biltmore Cabaret. Read on to share her experiences.

If Samuel Taylor Coleridge introduced us to his hermit from The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, and forced him to tell us stories of his loves and life, happiness and loneliness, we would hear a harmonious melancholy that is the music of The Bleating Hearts.

Author: 
Shazia R
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
CocoRosie

...and everyone was invited! Celebrating the naissance of their fourth album, Grey Oceans at the Vogue Theatre, Anna Grabowski was witness to their haunting distinctive style amid balloons and Carousels June 24th, 2010.  

Author: 
Anna Grabowski
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
LCD Sound System with Guests

Afternoon drizzle and rumors of lingering mud from Massive Attack's show had Anna Grabowski wary of sporting runners for LCD Soundsystem's performance. Yet sunshine and frisbees were part of show with special guest's Holy Ghost! in the Malkin Bowl May 31st, 2010.

I first noticed the clouds parting when a frisbee wizzed by my head and Brooklyn’s Holy Ghost! took the stage to enchant listeners to their brand of new wave dance music. 

Author: 
Anna Grabowski
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
The Wedding Present

Tuesday April 20th Scott White checked out the Texas band Girl in a Coma & The Wedding Present at the Biltmore Cabaret. Read on for his Rockabilly review.

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Bach and Beyond

Saturday April 24th, 2010 | Host Joseph Lavalley saw Conductor Bramwell Tovey, and flutist Christie Reside's performance of some of classical music's masters in the series Bach & Beyond at the Chan Centre For The Performing Arts. 

Witnessing the performance by Bramwell Tovey as conductor throughout the scheduled listing of music by the classical masters, Bach, Stravinsky, Mozart and Haydn; was a spectacular display of synchronicity between players and the conductor. 

Author: 
Joseph Lavalley
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator

Pages