Music RSS

ELLIOTT BROOD with Stephen Pitkin

Father-son pairs bumped elbows with knit cap wearing couples, while beer guzzling frat boy types joined in the audience for Elliot Brood’s sold out show at Vancouver’s Commodore Ballroom this past Wednesday night.

Author: 
Amanda Mcculley
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
MALAJUBE W/ THE BESNARD LAKES

Malajube are an oddity in the Canadian and North American music scene. They manage to be indie music critics darlings while at the same time amazing everyone because all their songs are sung in French.

 I think everyone is wondering, "Why the hell are we listening to this when we have no idea what they are saying." Completely ignoring the fact that many bands screech out their songs and it doesn't much matter what language they are waling in. 

Author: 
Scott Wood
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Boris

Arriving early at The Biltmore these days one seems certain to be greeted by an eclectic atmosphere, and this night was no different. The Japanese psychedelic/hard rock act Boris was in town this night in support of no less than three 2011 full length recordings.

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Pop Montreal

A self-aware misnomer if there ever was one, the international music festival really should rename itself to "Pop" Montreal.

Since its inception in 2002, the Pop Montreal International Music Festival has grown exponentially, now showcasing over 600 artists in the span of 5 days. With headlining acts ranging from the electronic-duo Chromeo to the saxophone-heavy, big-beat-tossing-and-simultaneously yelping tUnE-YarDs to the Montreal rock sweethearts Karkwa, "pop" is hardly apropos.

Author: 
Aaron Acosta
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Rifflandia

Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending an up and coming music festival that has taken place in Victoria for the past three years. It was my first time to the festival, and only my second time in Victoria. I will let you know right off the bat, reader, that I am no where close to professionalism in my critiques or reviews of events; however, I can give one hell of an honest, average-joe like, almost personal preference free account of a good time. This is the quick story of my time at Rifflandia.

Thursday night

Author: 
Kiara Shibley
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
J Mascis @ the Olio Festival

As the central figure in the underground act Dinosaur Jr., with a huge catalogue of work compiled over the last two decades, J Mascis surely needs little introduction. However, the indie rock icon has certainly stripped things down on many levels since those early formative years.  

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Philip Glass

The Chan Centre for the Performing Arts was a hum and buzz of anticipation as the audience waited for the composer-performer-innovator, Philip Glass, to walk on stage. Arts & Entertainment correspondent, Denise Mok was on the scene to capture some of the quiet grandeur and virtuosity of Philip Glass\' Vancouver performance. 

Author: 
Isis B.
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
Certain Breeds/Terror Bird/Digits

Alternative to the now defunct Cobalt, Funky Winkerbeans has been catering to bands with a raw punk edge, and those with a brooding darkwave vibe. Scott White arrived, early to May 8th Certain Breeds, Terror Bird, and Digits and had the opportunity to converse with a couple of the members of local band Certain Breeds.   

Author: 
Scott White
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
The Bleating Hearts, The Unsupervised, Owl Drugs, and We Just St

Monday May 17th, reviewer Shazia R. got a healthy dose of local bands: The Bleating Hearts, The Unsupervised, Owl Drugs, and We Just Stole a Car at the Biltmore Cabaret. Read on to share her experiences.

If Samuel Taylor Coleridge introduced us to his hermit from The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, and forced him to tell us stories of his loves and life, happiness and loneliness, we would hear a harmonious melancholy that is the music of The Bleating Hearts.

Author: 
Shazia R
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator
CocoRosie

...and everyone was invited! Celebrating the naissance of their fourth album, Grey Oceans at the Vogue Theatre, Anna Grabowski was witness to their haunting distinctive style amid balloons and Carousels June 24th, 2010.  

Author: 
Anna Grabowski
  • Posted on: 12 April 2016
  • By: Administrator

Pages