Announcing the 8th Annual Julian Awards Nominees

CJSF 90.1 FM and The Jazz Spectrum are pleased to announce the nominees for the 8th Annual Julian Award of Excellence for Emerging Canadian Jazz Artists.

The Julian Award recognizes and promotes young and emerging Canadian jazz musicians who have created original work. The nominees for 2019 are:

Robert Diack (Toronto) – “Lost Villages” | available on Bandcamp and Spotify

Chris Monson (Toronto) – “Seldom In The Well” | available on Bandcamp and Spotify

Soren Nissen (Toronto, Saskatoon) - “Departures” | available on Bandcamp and Spotify

John Pittman (Toronto, Winnipeg) – “Kinship” | available on Apple Music and Spotify

Chris Platt Trio (Toronto) – “Sky Glow” | available on Bandcamp and Spotify


To vote for your favourite nominee, please visit

Voting closes January 19th at 11:59 PM.

The winner will be announced on The Jazz Spectrum on Sunday, January 20th.

Listening to the Jazz Spectrum

Peter Prentice hosts The Jazz Spectrum live every Sunday from 8 – 9 AM on CJSF 90.1 FM. It is rebroadcast Wednesday at 6 PM or you can podcast the show anytime in the “Featured Programs” section at

Monday, January 14, 2019 - 15:45
  • Posted on: 14 January 2019
  • By: cjsfpr